January 18th-continued. ADHD and the Spelling Bee

The spelling bee results are in.  Yes!  I entered my full fledged ADHD “I hate to spell” son in his class spelling bee.  My last entry told you how we learned 150 words this weekend.  Guess what!  He won his class bee!

But the story is hilarious.  Last night, he told me how he couldn’t get the word “intellectual” out of his mind.  It was one of his spelling words.  We had gone over it again and again because he kept mispelling it.  Finally, we got to the point where he could nail it everytime.   

 He asked me, “What does intellectual mean?”

I answered, “It means very smart, like you!”

“Nuh uh,” he said, a truly intellectual response.

Anyway, this is what happened today.  Of the 32 kids that participated, 25 got out in the first round.  I think that’s really funny.

“And then,” Ben told me, “The teacher gave me the word ‘intellectual’ and I spelled it I-N-T-E-L-L-E-C-T-A-U-L.” 

“You spelled it wrong?”  I asked him.  “How?”

“I don’t know, but I was lucky because all of the kids misspelled their words in that round.”

“Really?!”

“Yeah, so Mr. Swallow let the seven of us back in for another round.  On the next round, I was the only one that got the word right.  So I won. ”

Imagine that.  He got two of his three words right and he won the class bee.   Hey, we’ll take it.

Leave a Reply

