Valentine’s Day

I was a little grouchy today.  Maybe it’s because my house was a mess.   Maybe it’s because I was having a chocolate hangover.  Maybe it’s because my camera lens is unrepairable, and I’m going to have to buy a new one.  Maybe it’s because my brain was flooding today.    All I know now is that my tummy hurts.  I’m never ever never ever ever going to eat chocolate again.  At least until Thursday. 

I was also a little grouchy because I did have one more family Valentine party up my sleeve for tonight.  I was going to make this delicious chicken pasta with mushrooms and sun-dried tomatoes, but instead we went to my son’s playoff basketball game.  On Valentine’s Day! At 6:00 p.m!  I said to Prof, “What man created that schedule?!”   Here’s Caroline at the game.  She really likes games. 

When the game was over, I couldn’t help myself.  I still wanted the party.  We just did spaghetti, but we got out all the decorations I bought at the dollar store.  The table cloth ripped as soon as we tried to put it on.  I hope the champagne glasses don’t have lead in them.   

Did you notice Paris in the background?  Someday, I’m going to live in France.   Neil was grouchy today too, but he did enjoy the spaghetti. 

After we cleaned up, I foolishly got out the fondue pot because I didn’t think I had had enough chocolate today.  And do you know when you burn chocolate, it actually tastes really good? 

I was really touched when my Jacob and Sam brought me this.  The two did it together on their own.  No class project.  No daddy prodding.  They just did it.  Sweet. 

Leave a Reply

