The Best Homemade Bread

Yesterday we made homemade bread.   I make homemade bread because it makes our house smell so good, and it saves us money.  It doesn’t take more time because homemade bread is our dinner on the day I make it.  We are then able to use the rest of the bread during the week.  (Recipe is at the bottom).

Making bread may seem outdated, but let’s face it, frugality is “in” again.  With the economy still bad, more and more people are turning to gardening, home canning, and baking to save money.  Homemade bread saves us money, but it’s not like the flimsy bread at the store.  It can carry a dinner with a little cheese and fruit and for lunch, we just tear up the bread in a bowl and pour milk over it.  My boys love it.  It also works great for home-made lunches and after school snacks.

Frugality is the fourth value that I’m going to include in my mission statement, but I’m also pairing it with generosity.  While it may seem that these two are at odds with one another, I have found that the most frugal people I know are often the most generous.  That is because they manage their money wisely and have enough to share with others.

People that are frugal keep track of their money, and that is where I struggle.  I can’t even keep track of my keys–how can I possibly keep track of every dollar I spend?  

When I make bread, I try to partner frugality with generosity by making a second batch.  The ingredients are inexpensive and already out, and the clean up is the same.  We can deliver hot homemade bread to our neighbors, and we have yet to receive a complaint!

The Recipe:

  • 6 cups of whole wheat flour
  • 6 cups of very warm water
  • 2 1/2 TBS. Saf Insta yeast
  • 2/3 cup honey
  • 1/2 cup oil
  • 2 TBS. salt
  • 2 TBS. gluten
  • 2 1/2 TBS. Magic Dough Enhancer (optional)-this makes your bread taste lighter
  • 2 cups of oats
  • More wheat flour or white flour

Mix 6 cups of flour with yeast.  Then add 6 cups warm water to flour and mix.  Let this mixture sponge for 10 minutes.  It should rise to triple its orginal size. 

Then add honey, salt, oil, gluten, and Magic Mill Dough Enhancer.  Mix.   Add oats.  Mix and continue adding flour one cup at a time (about 6 cups) until the dough starts to pull away from the sides.  Mix for five more minutes. 

After fully mixed, divide and roll the dough into three large well-greased pans.  (The dough should take up about 2/3’s of the pan).   Let rise for approx. 45 minutes.  When close to fully risen, put in oven and THEN turn the oven on to 350.  Cook for forty minutes.  Dump loaves out as soon as they’re done (so they don’t get soggy).  Tastes great with chicken soup. 

Here are a few other tips

  • Whole wheat bread is more nutritious but it also makes the bread heavier.  Try half wheat flour and half white flour at first.  Dough enhancer is not as necessary.
  • You can use up to 1/3 other ground flour such as kamut, spelt, barley, brown rice and even quinoa.  Don’t use more than 1/3 of your recipe as these flours tend to make the bread heavier.
  • This is a large recipe for a large mixer.  Feel free to cut the recipe in half.
  • The Saf Insta Yeast is important because it only has to rise once.  If you can only find regular yeast, you’ll need to let it rise after you’ve mixed everything before you can get it into the pans.   Then you’ll need to let it rise again.  I never have time to do this which is why I use the insta yeast.
7 comments

  1. Home-made bread is great. I love kneading dough, there’s something in the motion that resonates in my whole ‘being’ for want of a better way of putting it. I must try making Soda Bread again, have you ever tried it?

  2. Beck,
    I’ve been wanting to make some bread but I don’t have the insta yeast, the enhancer, or the gluten. Do you think you could hook me up when I come out in a week? I’ll pay you. I already owe you money for the kid’s clothes.

  3. I haven’t tried soda bread. Do you have the recipe? I am not much of a sport when it comes to kneading bread. Must be due to my wimpy arms–

  4. I do have a recipe somewhere, but the tricky bit is making your own starter (instead of yeast) I can dig it all out if you’re interested.

  5. It will be pretty tight, unless we could fit it in Monday, but I already have a list of places I want to hit Monday… mostly Target and the mall.

  6. It’s right across the street from Target–it’s a small store–I love it because I can get in and out so fast–I’ll see if I can get over there sooner–

Leave a Reply

