Two Steps Forward, One Step Back

Two steps forward, one step back.  That’s how my life is at least, and I get obsessed with the one step back.

As a mom, it’s easy to focus only on the things we have yet to do.  We think about where we have failed and what goals we haven’t accomplished.  How often do we take time to recognize the good things we have done?  How often do we appreciate the progress we are making?   

Here are some tidbits of good news in my life:

  1.  Remember how I got locked out of my car at my sister’s bridal shower and had to call AAA?  Remember how I made seven copies of car keys the next day and promptly lost all seven of them?  I did find those seven keys in my diaper bag.  It’s funny because that’s where I remember putting them.   I’m proud to report that I haven’t had a stressful key incident since.  I even attached two spare keys to my diaper bag.  It might look tacky, but it’s worth it. 
  2. Ricky is finally potty trained.  Mostly.  We did have an accident yesterday, but other than that, he’s gone dry for a week.  That change has made my life a whole lot easier, and I think I need to take a moment of silence for this. 

The First Step Into Manhood--Being Potty Trained

3.   Eli is taking piano lessons from this new teacher that I tracked down.  Remember that miraculous story?  The lovely Christine  is already demanding more out of him and me.  We’ve practiced different drills to help him curve his fingers and relax his wrists.  He’s progessing quickly.  The two of us practice together at 7:00 a.m.  It is a delightful part of my day.  We work hard but try to have fun.  When I see a finger flatten on the keyboard, I utter this sort of warcry that makes him laugh.

  1.  
Leave a Reply

