Why Parents Need to Get Away Sometimes

I can’t believe how nice it was to get a little break from our kids.  Honestly, I didn’t think we were going to make it out of our house.  A magnetic force pulled us back-

When we finally pulled free, boy did we feel free!  It was so nice to spend some time with my dear man.  He’s so good to me. 

It was a little overcast much of the time, but we went hiking anyway.  Turns out I’m slow even without kids.

A great hike on our Moab get-away

A little R & R can really clear the brain.   We asked each other questions like, “Where do you want to be in ten years?”  (Usually we’re just focused on surviving the next ten minutes.) I strongly recommened a short vacation for parents of five children–or four–or three—or two–.  I didn’t think two days would be a long enough break but it did wonders.

I often see myself only as a mother.  I forget that I was just once a girl who fell in love with a boy–and when I finally get alone with this boy, I remember again.

Leave a Reply

