Earnest Girl vs. Island Girl

I have a little island girl that sits on my nightstand.  She hulas for me as I go to sleep.  She’s a good reminder that somewhere in there, I do have some island girl left in me.  When I was in high school, we had to take a color personality test.  This is how our AP history teacher chose to use the week before our AP exams, and no, none of us passed the exam.  But I did learn a lot about myself which is way more important than history anyway, is it not?

I came out 50/50 yellow, blue.  Yellow means your spontaneous, fun, happy, playful, and forgetful.  Yellows like to dance.  My yellow is my inner island girl.  Blues are sincere, earnest, moody, artistic, intense, purposeful, sensitive, and nuturing.  Think Eleanor Roosevelt.  I was a nice blue/yellow balance in high school.

I recently took that test and found that with the exception of being forgetful, I am entirely blue.  And when you are entirely blue, you can feel a little blue.  Fortunately, I reconnected with my inner island girl when I went to California and met my dear and favorite cousin Shannon. 

She is the daughter of Randy and Linda, and I can never get enough of her.  She’s pure sunshine and pure yellow.  When we were teenagers, she scared the living daylights out of me.  Riding in her jeep was a thrilling and terrifying experience.  She’d switch lanes, speed, and scream out the window, “You are so hot!” to the guys driving next to us.  She once started a little road rage when she had boys on both sides of her chasing her.  When they recognized they had some competition, they started yelling at each other as they stood through their open roof tops.  Shannon somehow zoomed ahead and made a quick right while the guys in the two cars kept duking it out. 

Shannon and Me at the time share

Shannon has tamed down since then, a little.  When we visited them on Thursday, I said to her, “You should come stay at my Mom’s condo.  They’re leaving tomorrow morning (Friday), but they have it rented out until Sunday.  You could stay in it for free.”

“I am totally there,” she said.  I didn’t know whether to believe her because as a true yellow, she is somewhat forgetful.  But the next day at 1:00, my cellphone rang and Shannon yelled, “We’re he–re.  Can you get us in?” 

She wanted to get to the pool right away.  So I did.  I have not laughed so much for a long time.  We totally feed off of each other.  We are two peas in a pod.  Her older sister Randalyn came too, and she added to the riot.  I have some great stories about that girl too, but I don’t think she’d like those stories on the internet. 

   Shannon, Randalyn, and Randlyn’s daughter, Taylor

Shannon is totally ADHD too, but she seems to celebrate it.  Maybe I should do the same.  She told me that she recently backed their car out of the garage when the garage door was not all the way open.  Their surf rack got totally mangled.  Her husband saw the whole thing, and when he approached her car, she locked the doors, threw up her hands, and yelled, “I can’t help it.” 

Perhaps the beauty of Shanon is that we share the same weaknesses, and while I get frustrated with them, she has such a good time with them.  And on this trip, I discovered Randalyn.  She was always the older cooler girl, so I didn’t hang out with her in high school, but age doesn’t seem to matter when you have a bunch of kids.   

Anyway, I was so SAAAAAD when we had to leave.  I hope my island girl has been lit again.  Earnest girl is good too, but really, she shouldn’t run the show. 

P.S.  I will be posting some AWESOME beach pictures tomorrow. 

Are you an earnest girl or an island girl?

Do you have a friend that brings out your inner island girl? 

2 comments

  1. Sounds like you had a fun time with Shannon… I would have liked to be a fly on the wall for that.
    Tawny most definitely brings out my “island girl.” Whenever I am around her we laugh hysterically… she is so dang funny. Too bad we see each other about once a year or less…

  2. I wish you could have been there too, Mindy. It was crazy fun–if you guys live in Monterey next year, we’ll have to plan Lawrence Welk together next April. How is Tawny these days?

Leave a comment