My Mission Statement

 

This picture is entirely irrelevant to this post

I mentioned before my desire to write a mission statement.  After pondering my values and my goals over the last few months, I have finally come up with what I believe to be the essence of what I hope to attain.   I was very influenced by my uncle Randy last week.  His warmth and goodness was so attractive that I just wanted to be more like him. 

My Mission Statement

My mission statement is not that complicated.  I’m just trying to be like Jesus.  I’m not going to worry any more about what deeds I might accomplish or what people I might influence.  I believe that I can do the most good by just being good.  Inspired by Ben Franklin, I have listed the “virtues” I hope to attain.    

Mindfulness

Give us this day our daily bread

Faith

For with God nothing shall be impossible 

Virtue

Let virtue garnish thy thoughts unceasingly, then shall thy confidence wax strong

Knowledge

And wisdom and knowledge shall be the stability of thy times 

Temperance

And every man that striveth for the mastery is temperate in all things

Patience

Let us run with patience the race that is set before us. 

Kindness

Whatsoever ye would that men should do to you, do ye even so to them

Charity

Perfect love casteth out all fear

 Humility

Nevertheless, not my will, but thine, be done 

Diligence

It is not requisite that a man should run faster than he has strength.  And again, it is expedience that he should be diligent that thereby he might win the prize

Xenia (Hospitality)

Be not forgetful to entertain strangers:  for thereby some have entertained angels unawares 

Frugality and Generosity

Gather up the fragments that remain, that nothing be lost

Beauty

He hath made everything beautiful in his time 

Forgiveness

Forgive, and ye shall be forgiven

7 comments

  1. I love it Beck… always striving to be better… that’s what President Hinckley always encouraged us to do. Wish I could have hung out with you guys and Randy Turner. Slawek here in Poland chokes up when he talks about Randy or Papa.

Leave a Reply

