Insomnia, Caesar, and Raincoats

I’ve been chugging along quite smoothly now until I had another insomnia night.   I feel so tired at 3:40 a.m. that I don’t even bother to turn on the light and rummage for a book.  I just lie there inert for a long time.  Finally, after I could bear it no longer, I found Julius Caesar on the floor.  These were the first lines I read:

I would it were my fault to sleep so soundly

Apparently, Brutus had a tough time falling to sleep too.  That made me feel not so lonely because insomnia is quite a lonely habit.  Sometimes I even try waking Michael up, but he definitely has the “fault” of sleeping too soundly.  I finally fell asleep right when it was time for yoga, but I didn’t care.  I don’t know where my planner and phone are either, and I’m not feeling very motivated to find them at the moment.  Really, it’s amazing I’m even writing on this blog.

On a more positive note, I’ve decided to work on my value, mindfulness.  Mindfulness is tough for me because I’m so easily distracted.  One thing that has helped me a lot with mindfulness is taking pictures of my kids.  I’m more aware, looking for the opportunity to snap a shot, and I’m always looking for their joy.  I get to appreciate their wonder and capture it.

I wanted to share some pictures of Deborah in her new raincoat.  Isn’t she styling? 

I debated about returning this coat.  I loved it, but it was a splurge.  We went to a hamburger place for lunch and Ricky tried to give Deborah a drink of Sprite.  She was standing under him and he poured it all down her front.  Her face got doused, but her clothing didn’t get wet because the raincoat was doing its job.  The raincoat has earned its keep. 

In May, I’m going to start talking about food.  I can’t wait.  I’m getting tired talking about myself.   

Leave a Reply

