ADHD and Eating

Yesterday, I had a little ladies’ lunch for a couple of my friends.  The leftover rolls were left out in the basket, and the cookies were left in their bakery box.  Guess what I snacked on all day. 

Isn’t that how so much of our eating happens?  We eat food that we never planned on eating.  We ADHD people especially struggle because we are distracted and we often don’t even realize how much we are eating.  Sometimes I even find myself eating something that I don’t even remember putting in my mouth. 

-Break- I just got back from eating a bowl of unplanned ice-cream.  You would think with all the tasty things I eat, I would be quite satisfied, but alas, I am not.  Sure, I might delight in a piece of birthday cake as I sit down with my family, but too often I’m eating while cleaning the kitchen or making dinner.  I don’t even taste these calories.  

I’m determined to start planning more, and this is how I’m going to do it.

  1. I will organize my recipes.  Ugh.  Here they are.  Once I do it, it will be easier for me to find good dinner ideas. 

2.  I will plan a weekly menu and weekly grocery list before I go shopping.

3.  I will plan a daily menu each morning and get a start on the food prep. 

We women often neglect ourselves.  We forget to eat, and by the time we get around to it, we are starving.  We don’t make a salad but eat carbs, sugars, and fats.  I think that if I take the time to plan and prepare, I’ll eat better and have more energy.  Energy.  Imagine that.

2 comments

  1. Hehehehe I think we’ve all been there!
    I find if I spread my protein intake throughout the day instead of having it all at night I’m less likely to carb binge and I have more energy. Worth a shot?

Leave a Reply

