The Temptation of Food

Do noble intentions count for much?  I think they should, don’t you?  I spent a long time writing my post about healthy snacks.  The good news is that I’ve been eating those healthy snacks.  The bad news is that I’ve been eating some other stuff too.  Like this.   

My husband made these for me for Mother’s Day.   He made a lot of them, and they were so very good.  But that wasn’t my only slip of the weekend. 

Friday:  My son’s friends came  over for homemade pizza.  We make divine pizza.  Still, I only ate one piece until we got to our last bit of dough.  We didn’t have any spaghetti sauce left to put on it so I rolled it out, lathered it in butter, sprinkled cinnamon and sugar on it, baked it, and smothered it in frosting.  And that is when my son’s friends sponataneously bolted.  I was left alone with this stuff.  While I was cleaning the kitchen, I kept taking little pieces of it.  This stuff was like ambrosia, let me tell you, it was food for the gods.  Can I really help it if I’m such a damn good cook?

Saturday:   Eli ordered apple pancake for his birthday breakfast.  For dinner we had hot dogs, homemade potato salad (Eli’s request), chips, veggies and dip, homemade cake, and homemade strawberry ice-cream.  I’m getting hungry just writing about this.

Sunday:   We had waffles, strawberries and cream, ravioli, and chocolate covered strawberries.  My husband also gave me a box of raspberry chocolate sticks.   I guess the really issue is that no matter how much healthy stuff you have in your house, if you’ve got the good stuff, you’re going to eat that too.   

Monday: We said farewell to the last of our ice-cream, chocolate covered strawberries, and raspberry chocolate sticks. I’ve been good for two days so far. 

Do you have bad eating days?  How do you prevent them?

8 comments

  1. I don’t buy the stuff.
    And I’m doing the Zone diet and it keeps the hunger pangs away since you HAVE to eat at least three meals and two snacks a day and it’s all good stuff so you feel fuller for longer.

  2. IT’s definitely harder to stick to healthy food on the weekends. I just try and do my best during the week, and then on weekends like you had, I just try to eat the junk in moderation. They say to drink a large glass of water 30 minutes before a meal and you eat less. Also, just drinking water during the day can satisfy that craving to munch on something. Eat slower too. Savor your bites. Also, I chew fruity gum. It helps satisfy the sweet tooth and then I can’t eat anything since I’m chewing gum. That is so awesome Dave made you those strawberries. I wouldn’t beat yourself up over that… that is so sweet of him and I would just enjoy those! One other thing, out of sight, out of mind. I try not to have the junk around, or if I do have junk food in the house, I hide it.

  3. Yep. I use sugar-free gum to keep my sweet tooth under control too, and I’ve found that I’ve been mistaking thirst for hunger – so upping the water intake has helped there as well.

Leave a Reply

