The First Step to Better Eating

The First Step to Better Eating

It is time to get out of my food rut.  I accomplished that today.  How?  I went to Savers, our local thrift store, and looked through the cookbooks until I found a couple of gems.  The one I am most excited about is called The Sonoma Diet.  Have you heard of it?

I have fallen in love with it because it has a recipe for ratatouille, you know, like the rat in that Pixar movie?  Ever since I saw that movie when I was several months pregnant, I’ve wanted to move to France and EAT!

This picture sits in my kitchen to remind my husband that he needs to take me to Paris

This book restored my food passion with ingredients like flat-leaf parsely, yellow summer squash, capers, fresh mint, sun dried tomatoes, asparagus, quinoa, pork loin, eggplant, and blue cheese.  And I bought it for only $3.  There was a second Sonoma cookbook there.  I should have grabbed it.  Does anyone want it?

I have heard of women that can type out a two week food plan and use that plan over and over again.  I have never been able to do that.  I have a cupboard stacked with binders and cookbooks, and I am bored with all of it.  Ah!  ADHD!

The first step to better eating is to get passionate about food again.  If you are not, you won’t bother to fix yourself good meals, and you end up eating Kit Kats, licorice, and fig newtons.  At least, that’s whay I do.  It’s a terrible diet, and it makes me feel dizzy and tired. Since I have five children, dizziness and fatigue are not really an option.  I cannot believe that I am excited to start cooking again. It’s a miracle.

So if you’ve got some food apathy going on, find a new cookbook that is really you.  You will know it is mean for you because you will start to salivate as you read the recipes.  Good luck!

4 comments

Leave a Reply

