Tree Treasures, Pork Sandwiches, and Gifts

Do you see anything hidden in this tree?  We found this tree treasure as we left our house to go on our Sunday walk.  What a treat!  I love our Sunday walks.  Deborah kept trying to get out of the stroller.  Why don’t I just buckle her in?

We had just had a big meal with lots of friends.  We had pork sandwiches, salad, watermelon, homemade ice-cream, and chocolate chip cookies.  Note:  If you are trying to avoid sugar do not make this menu.  I actually ate very well all week, and I was amazed at how much better I felt and how clearly I thought.  So I didn’t do so hot on Sunday or today, but I’m determined to get back on track.

Last night I read from a book of women’s essays last night.  I love this statement by Margaret J. Wheatley:

In our desire to value that which is difficult, I believe we turn away from God.  I think God designed us so that our gifts and talents would be easily recognizable, arising almost effortlessly from who we are because “men are that they might have joy.”  We can create joy through the relatively effortless expression of our best gifts, those self-expressions which are most essentially and easily ourselves.  I believe God in his creative intelligence intended us to find joy, to find easefulness, through the exercise of our gifts.  Instead, we ascribe far too much value to struggle, making struggle almost the primary spiritual value by which we measure ourselves, making the refines’ fire our access point to divinity.

I cannot experience life that way any more.  I have found that my life and accomplishments become effortless, full of grace and a peaceful ease, when I am doing what feels consonant with the Father’s will for me. It isn’t easy to stay on that joyful path, though, because when life gets easy, a strong puritan voice in my head pipes up, “You’re having too much of a good time here.  LEt’s get serious.  This isn’t a free lunch.  This isn’t a joy ride.  This is life. ”  So then I go back to exertions; I look for tasks that are difficult, I push and push and reorganize my life–creating struggle as a measure of my righteousness.

I love it and thought you might too.

What are your gifts that your ignore?

4 comments

  1. Love your tree-treasure and *really* appreciate that quote: just what I needed to read today.

    (Deborah and Mr Butterfly could be good mates – Mr B has decided he has to run to the bus-stop each morning instead of dutifully sitting in the buggy. Sigh.)

Leave a Reply

