An Apostle of the Lord Comes to Visit

Yesterday was very special because an apostle of the Lord came to visit our church.  Our church has a prophet and twelve apostles who are special witnesses of Jesus Christ.  The apostle who came was Elder Russell M. Nelson.  A visit from an apostle is very rare–it might happen once every five or even twenty years.  The apostles travel constantly to meet with the members, but with a world-wide membership of over 13 million people, they are needed in many places.

I told my children that it was like having Peter, James, or Paul come visit us.

Because close to 4000 people would be attending this meeting, we went an hour and a half early to get good seats, and we got there at 8:30 a.m.   I couldn’t believe we pulled it off.

I did not even see Elder Nelson come in, but when I looked up, (after instructing one of my children yet once again on the meaning of the word reverence), I saw him looking directly at me.

I was amazed at the direct line of vision I had to him.  It was almost like we were the only two in the room.  And I knew then that he really was an apostle of the Lord.  I felt in his eyes understanding, love, compassion—like somehow, he understood me, a mother of five challenging children.

I felt through him the love of my Savior.  I felt that the Lord knew that while I struggle, he is pleased with me.  He knows I am trying my best.  He loves me.

And that is a very special message indeed because I so often feel inadequate.   I often don’t feel like I know what I’m doing.

But Elder Nelson gave the most beautiful talk on what we need to teach our children.  It’s reassuring that to know that really when it comes down to it, there are some basic truths are children need to know.  Elder Russell M. Nelson then left us all with a blessing which is probably to sacred to share on this blog, but again I felt so much love from my Savior.  I felt his peace and acceptance.  Now if only I can feel that all the time.

One comment

  1. I love the apostles! Thanks for sharing Beck. We had Elder Bednar at our regional stake conference and he was AMAZING

Leave a Reply

