Raspberries Can Cure Any Monday

So yesterday I felt a little, um, Mondayish.  I walked in each room only to find dishes to wash or papers to file or laundry to be done.  I felt blah.

One of my lovely piles of paperwork stashed around the house

We were supposed to go raspberry picking last night.  That’s definitely a peter pan list item for me. We’ve done it before, but the kids really look forward to it, and I want to make it a family tradition.  I always feel like I get a little perspective out in the raspberry patch, and the fresh air doesn’t hurt either.  

But the Captain was late from work, Shirley was a basket case, Randy was still at football practice, dinner was late, and I was just plain tired.  I was looking at the clock, waiting, hoping for the moment that it would be too late to go.

But somehow when the Captain got home, he gave us the momentum to get out of the door, even if we were leaving an hour later than planned.  After pulling out of our neighborhood, I looked at Dennis’s feet.  “Where are you shoes?!” I told you to get them on. ”  I looked over at the captain.   “Honey, we’ve got to go back for his shoes.”

“We are not going back for his shoes.”

“OK.”  Good call because if we went back to get them, we never would have made it out again.

But then we all had a moment of grace, and boy did we need it.  I opened up the remarkable children’s book, Wonder, and I read it to them on the way there.  It’s a story about a boy with a craniofacial deformity who finally gets the guts to go to public school.  It’s such a sweet book that makes you just want to be kinder to everyone.  Everybody was quiet as I read it, and I needed that too.

When we got there, the sun was already starting to go behind the mountain.  We didn’t have much time, but it was still so peaceful and beautiful.

We picked nine pounds of raspberries.  I loved finding the little clumps of berries hiding under the branches. It was like a treasure hunt.  The way home was really sweet too.  I got out my little planner and said, “OK guys.  You know I’m doing a blog about a peter pan list.  It’s a list of things we want to do with you guys before you grow up. What are some things you guys would like to see on our peter pan list?”

It was dark by now, and the kids were surprisingly quiet.

And then to my utter surprise, Randy said, “”I want to hike up to the Uintas and go to Moon Lake.”  I’m not kidding.  He really said that.  I guess he overheard us talking about Moon Lake last week, and I was so excited that he wanted to go to Moon Lake with me!

We talked about Yosemite, Disneyland, yerts, rafting trips, and all the books we wanted to read.  I’m so excited that everybody is on board with this!  Now to clean my kitchen.

2 comments

  1. Love the pictures of all your kids… especially Ben's and Ricky's. So, you know what's good to do with raspberries? Crepes, nutella, raspberries, powdered sugar. Mmmmmm…

Leave a Reply

