Honey, I seem to have lost my mind. Have you seen it anywhere?

So we’ve all got our dreams out there and then we’ve got those things that are holding us back. I thought I’d tell you about one of those things holding me back right now, and even as I do, I can’t figure out whether I should laugh or cry.  I’m leaning towards crying.

See I have talents and untalents, and one of my untalents is that I lose everythingI figure my brain is a little bit different than everybody else’s.  Like take a normal brain, put it in a blender, and then you have my brain. Call it a smoothie brain if you will.  There are some perks to this—it’s a little more fluid and unpredictable which can be really fun when I’m trying to write a story.  But most of the time, it’s just a big headache.  No pun intended.


My husband has been more than patient with this.  I’m going to call him the captain, since he kind of steers our family ship while the rest of us on board are looking for the mop again or pushing each other off of the deck.  He’s our steady man.  Everybody needs a steady man.  I don’t know what I’d do without him. 

No.  Our captain is not Jack Sparrow.

When I first started dating him, it became so clear that he was the one.  I didn’t really know why.  Maybe because I just felt so calm around him.  I would later realize that he is the most patient man in the world.
But even he has his limits, and I just might have hit it yesterday when I sat him down and told him I lost my planner.

He got up and started looking.  I begged him not to look even though I was secretly hoping he would find it in three minutes like he so often does.  

The captain is trying to smile.  But he’s really thinking, “I wonder where Rebekah put her planner.” 
He didn’t though.  So as we went to bed he said, “So you’ve already called all the stores that you were at.”

“Yes, and I even went to all of them too.”

“It wasn’t with your purse? The Coach purse that you threw in the dishwasher last week?”

“I don’t think so.”

“Because I don’t think I’ve seen your purse either.”

“Well I’m pretty sure that I lost my purse before I lost my planner.”  

Still, he did bring up a good point.  I had turned the house upside down and I hadn’t found my purse either.  So maybe they’re hiding out together.  I tried to search around in that blender brain of mine to remember that fateful Shopko day and let’s just say I’ve been on pins and needles, waiting to call Shopko ever since. 

They open in seventeen minutes. 

(continued tomorrow)


Check out The Pros and Cons of Being Married to a Survivor Man
and A Love Story Not Meant to Be if you’d like to know a little more about the captain.  
One comment

  1. Dave sounds like Ben. He spent a good chunk of time last night helping me find my phone. But I'm not nearly as bad as you. Better never get an ipad… that would be expensive to replace every month!

Leave a Reply

