Are You A Halloween Scrooge?

As we ate and our Sunday dinner last night and the boys asked just when we were going to carve pumpkins, I groaned.  The Captain thought that was just hysterical.  I didn’t.  My groan was sincere

The Captain thinks that I’m an all around holiday scrooge just because I don’t like carving pumpkins or wrapping gifts or dying Easter eggs or watching fireworks.  I am not a holiday scrooge.  I do like turkey and pies and singing Christmas carols.  That’s about it, but it should count for something. 

Can you guess why I’m not a big fan of the pumpkin carving?

No.  Not joy.

Last night, we read my younger sister’s blog, my sweet sister who lives in Germany with her young family.  I had the kids piled high on my lap and the others were leaning over me as we read about my dear sister’s adventures with quaint French towns and majestic Alps and screaming children.

Ricky, who is in love with his cousin, Em, said, “OK, so we have to go see Germany now.”

“Do you have one thousand dollars?”  He looked at me in total shock.  It never occurred to him that it might cost something for us to see them. 

“Well we will just have to get a thousand dollars,” he said.

“How?” I asked.

“We will send our dad to work, and he will make the money for us.”  Oh, what our kids take for granted. 

“Well maybe we should help make the money, and how are we going to do that?” I asked.

“We will buy a money making machine and make our own money,” he said.

“I’m afraid that’s illegal.”  I know. I know.  I was just deflating all of his dreams, but somebody had to do it.

My crazy idea is that maybe someday enough people will be reading this blog, that they will buy us a few tickets to Germany.  In the mean time, we can look at my sister’s gorgeous pictures and read her hilarious stories.

I really really miss you Mindy.
  

2 comments

  1. Thanks for the plug Beck! It was a little shocking to see my pics on here, but it's all good 😉 I miss you too! And if it makes you feel any better, we haven't carved any pumpkins around here, not because I didn't want to, but because I forgot all about it until yesterday!

Leave a Reply

