What I Ate Yesterday

ARGHHH!  Bad day, but I just found my phone, and it is charging so things are looking up.  I was so thrilled to see a lot of comments from you all yesterday, but they are popping up under the Peter Pan list name which means hardly anyone is seeing them.  If you could subscribe to tortoisegirls, I would so appreciate it! 
I know that some of you guys are sad about losing The Peter Pan List name.  I am too, but we just couldn’t get anywhere as we ran into problems with Disney everywhere we turned.  I loved the Sand Bucket List name too, but the man that agreed to sell that name to us has gone missing.  If anyone of you would like to start up a manhunt in Indiana, I’m all for it.  The concept of the blog is still very much the same.  More than half of my 100 goals will be things I want to do with my children, and a lot of them will still be simple things like flying a kite, but I felt that I need to maintain my own identity and set some personal goals.      
Today I’m doing a bit of an experiment.  I picked these up at Costco last week.  They’re juices you’re supposed to drink for a little mini cleanse.  I tore them open as soon as I got home, ready to drink them all right on the spot, only to find out that I was supposed to go all vegan for two days before I could start with the juices.  Well.  I haven’t been able to pull it off yet.  I always get in the good breakfast bit, but then we get some chocolate brownies from a neighbor or I make a yummy chocolate cake.  Yeah.  Chocolate is a problem for me. 

Yesterday I decided I’d try something different.  I decided to make a menu plan, take pictures of everything I ate, and then post it on the blog for you guys.  So here goes.

Breakfast:  3/4 cup cooked quinoa (Costco), 1/2 apple, 10 almonds, 1/2 cup soymilk (Costco).
 Snack:  Half apple, two teaspons of almond butter

 Lunch:  Assorted veggies, 1/2 cup hummus (Costco)

1 cup frozen berries (Costco)

 Pumpkin Polenta Soup, Fresh salsa, Fresh salad, Fresh pineapple

Sorry about the last pic.  Turns out photographing food is tough.

If I’m going to be a good Tortoise girl, I’ve got to start eating better. As I mentioned yesterday, my goal is to be like the tortoise in Aesop’s fable.  I’m setting 100 life goals, but I’m going slow and steady style, determined to finish the race no matter how long it takes.  

Turns out that Skittles, brownies, and chips are good at giving me bursts of frenetic energy, but then they put me into a sort of coma.  This is more hare behavior.  If I want a slow and steady metabolism, I’ve got to take what I’m eating a lot more seriously.

Tips on a good salad:  I made a simple salad that my sister learned to make while she served her mission in Argentina.  It’s just lettuce, tomatoes, onion, salt and pepper, and a drizzle of a lemon juice/olive oil blend.  The onion is really important as it brings most of the flavor to the salad. Any kind of onion works.  It has a really fresh, clean taste to it.

Please try out the amazing pumpkin polenta recipe with the salsa.  It is to die for plus the gluten free goddess’s pictures look so much better.

What good things did you eat yesterday?

2 comments

  1. Hey Beck, so can you leave a post on your old blog, peter pan list, to redirect people to this post. People may have bookmarked your old blog and then not realize that you have a new blog address.

    And I sooooo need to do a cleaner diet. The problem is they have these DELICIOUS rolls that I have every morning. They are whole grain I'm sure… very brown and seedy but I have to put a chocolate spread on them with strawberries and bananas. I'm having a hard time giving it up. Actually all the food here is amazing, it's really hard to pass it up. I've got an extra ten pounds on me that I'd love to lose. I tried for like two weeks eating better and exercising every day and I didn't drop a pound. I think my body likes to hang on to it while I'm breastfeeding. That's my excuse anyway. HEre's my other gripe with trying to eat healthy. It takes so much time! Extra time to prepare the meals and there's no way my kids will eat it, so I'm basically preparing two meals at every meal and it's annoying. Anyway, I'm going to try out your pumpking polenta. Sounds good…

  2. I wouldn't even try if I lived in Europe. You can lose the weight when you get back. I cracked tonight for Halloween. I was doing so good, but they had these cupcakes . . .

    Anyway, I was going to talk about that in another blog post. I believe the key to success is to eat the same breakfast and same lunch for a whole week and even with the dinners, make enough to last two or three nights. Unless you have a chef, it's just too much work.

Leave a Reply

