It’s Halloween. Have You Lost Your Mind Yet?!!

Aaargh!!!  Bah Humbug!!!!  #@$%*!^&!! 

I love Halloween.  Really I do.  I especially loved it when my boys came home from scouts last night at 8:40 and asked, “So when are we carving the pumpkins?”  It was a fine idea, especially since our kitchen was so clean already.

Our kitchen on Halloween morning, just in case you were wondering.  

I know.  I know I’m an all around holiday scrooge, and this attitude has got to stop.

So we’re all dressing up tonight.  Even The Captain.  Not only that, but we’re going out on a theme.  So cheesy, I  know, but if we’re going to do it, we’re going all the way, baby.

Just so you know, evil forces totally out of my control started this insane ride when I found the most adorable blue gingham dress last year on clearance.  “Oh what a cute Dorothy dress this would make for Deborah.”  This year, I stumbled onto Gymboree’s ruby slippers, also on clearance.  I was doomed.

We already had an old lion costume for Ricky, and then I had to go and make a joke about The Wizard of Oz at dinner which made Eli determined to be the tin man.

I tried to talk him out of it because I knew he was the tipping point.  It was fine to have the youngest two paired up, but if Eli got involved, it would change everything.

We have a Halloween parade every year in our neighborhood where all the kids and parents walk around the block. If only half of us were doing Wizard, everyone in our neighborhood would wonder what was wrong with the rest of us lame-O’s.

“Are you sure you want to do the tin man?”  He showed me the armor he had whipped up with a Costo milk box.  The kid is a freaking genius.  So I closed my eyes, plugged my nose, and made the plunge.  And yes, I made that plunge on October 30, one day before Halloween.

We went to Savers and Partyland, and then I went into seizures.  There were so many people, except for the kind of people that actually work at the store and help you find things.  I started hyperventilating when I saw the long lines so I tried to do my yoga breathing.  The people next to me looked at me funny and then figured I was practicing my Darth Vader voice for tomorrow.  Silly people.  Couldn’t they see I had a wicked witch’s hat in my hand?  

I walked out with a bunch of face paint, a tin man hat, a Witch’s hat, some spray paint, and a foul mood.   As soon as I came home, I saw Davy, who increased my crankiness score from a nine to a ten.   Before we left to shop, he had absolutely refused to be the flying monkey, which is really ironic, since he already is a flying monkey.  Made it just hit too close to home.

To my surprise, when we got back, Davy really wanted to be the scarecrow, and he even went over to old George’s to get some dead grass that looked exactly like straw.  That’s when I realized how much I really loved the boy.  I had thought I was going to have to track down a farm to get that straw, and he was observant enough to see we had some next door.  

So now I’m going out for a last minute shopping trip.  I’m giving myself one hour to find whatever I can because one hour is all I’ve got and then we’re through.

So yeah, I’ll be posting the picture of our family later today, but don’t get all upset if one of us is wearing a sign that says, “I’m the flying monkey.”  We’re just going to do the best that we can, and I’m basing our standards on what make the kids happy and not whether they actually look like they belong on set.
Repeat: These will not be blog worthy pictures.

I swear.  I’ll be in a much better mood later today so hang with me.

And please!  Send me your costume pictures at rsbgriffin@yahoo.com or tortoisegirls@gmail.com.

Love you guys and Namaste.

Leave a Reply

