You Want Me to Get Up at What Time?

I warily told one of my friends I was thinking about getting up at 5:00 a.m. every morning, and I expected her to tell me I was crazy.  Instead she told me that she has been getting up at 5:00 a.m. after hearing the popular speaker, Randal Wright.  He asked his audience, “If there was one thing you could do that would make you more successful and help you feel closer to God, would you do it?  The audience agreed that they would. He was smart to get their commitment first.  He told them that if they were serious, they needed to start getting up at 5:00 a.m.

I have felt for a long time now that I need to get up earlier, but then again, I just love my down comforter.
But I recently read an interesting article about the morning habits of successful people and saw that getting up earlier was at the top of their list.  Again, I thought that perhaps God was trying to tell me something.  

Do you love your bed, wherever it may be?

Another habit the article mentioned was planning your day.  This is something I’m not very good at doing, and I find that my day feels hectic and disorganized when I don’t know what my highest priorities are.
So this morning I got up at 5:00 a.m. for the second day in a row, thank you very much, and tried to map out my day.  I have to get up at 5:00 if I want to plan because yoga is at 6:00, and my kids start leaving  for school at 7:00.

I was amazed as I wrote down my list of things to do.  No wonder I get stressed.  I couldn’t even fit it all on my schedule on paper.  Still, it was so good to write it out though as it made me think about doing things more efficiently and prioritizing what’s most important.

When I looked at my list this afternoon, I saw that I had eight phone calls that I needed to make, but I only had time to make one. I chose the one that was most important and felt good that I had my other to-do calls written down so that I will remember them tomorrow.

I’ve found that one of the reasons that I feel I have to do things right away is because I’m afraid that I’ll forget later.  This is not an imagined fear.  It comes from some painful experience.  Having them written down gives me peace of mind as I know that I’ll be able to accomplish them at a more convenient time.

So I’ve made two huge goals in the last days, and I feel that that’s pretty good for the month.  I was going to make some major changes in my eating, but I might just do my best for now and tackle the eating next month, you know during, Christmas season.  In the mean time, I recommend this hilarious and very candid blog about a girl’s weight loss journey.  She actually weighs in every week and tells you what her weight is!  She’s very very brave, and she’s had great success.

P.S.  It took me two weeks after deciding to get up at 5:00 a.m. to actually do it.  

What time do you get up in the morning?  When do you want to get up in the morning?  How do you plan your day?

3 comments

  1. I get up early too! I write articles for a nonprofit and decided that it's easiest to get them done before my day actually starts. It's been delightful for me.

    Also, thanks for commenting on my blog! I have found yours just lovely, and I plan to keep reading. And maybe even commenting every once in a while.

  2. Because of health issued I am lucky to get up by 9:00. I usually plan my day the night before. It isn't hard for me now since my kids are older and I don't do everything I used to, also due to my health. I do agree getting up early is good. You can accomplish a lot more. I am still trying to tell my “night owl” mind to agree with that logic. Lol.

Leave a Reply

