Turning Miscreants into Gentlemen

As you know, I’m a tortoise girl because I want to slow down my life and still accomplish the things I feel I’m meant to do.  That’s why I’m creating a list of 100 goals which I will be sharing with you soon.

One of my goals is to teach my boys to be true gentlemen.

A gentleman asks the ladies to dance says Mr. Knightly

The Captain and I were laughing last night because one of his friends, a father of four girls said to him, “Girls can me so hard!”

“Well how many times have you taken them to the ER?” my captain retorted.  That quieted his friend right down.

I added, “Seriously.  How many times do you think Hannah and Ella have dragged each other down the stairs?”

Hannah is the oldest daughter of the captain’s friend, and I cannot imagine her being surly.  I’ve actually been trying to working out a betrothal with her parents, but they’ve been pretty difficult about it.  Mostly they just don’t want to do it.

Hannah’s the package.  She’s pretty, smart, and class president.  She even thinks Ben is funny, so maybe we won’t need her parents’ help after all.

Still, she might be a little out of Ben’s league.  I had a van load of kids I was taking home from a party and after we dropped her off, Ben’s friend said, “Dude, she is so smart.”

“I know.  She’s the kind of girl you should marry someday.  It would be good for your gene pool.”

“Dude.  What’s a gene pool?” he asked.

“Exactly,” I answered.

So if Ben is going to attract the likes of Hannah, we’ve got to get him so manners.  We tried to scratch some up for him and our boys last night.   We ran through a few role plays and the boys were just hysterical. Clueless.  Tell you more about it tomorrow.

Want you to know that I’m on my third morning of getting up before 5:00.  This morning, I actually got up at 4:10 because I hadn’t reset my clock yet.  When I finally figured it out, I couldn’t get back to sleep.  Still, I have to say that getting up early has made such a huge difference in my day!  I loved taking my son out for a little quick treat and spending some one on one time with him yesterday.  I loved that I didn’t have to worry if some things didn’t get done that day because I had them written down and could get them done tomorrow. And today I got my blog post written this morning!

Leave a Reply

