Did I Get Up at 5:00 a.m. Every Morning This Week?

My Sunday posts are my spiritual posts, and I speak with a Mormon perspective.  For those of you that are not comfortable with this, I recommend that you read my entries I post during the week.

Last week I made two huge goals—one was to get up at 5:00 a.m. every morning and another was to read the Book of Mormon in one month.

It’s so hard to strike that balance—-trying to reach my full potential while not pushing myself too hard.  I tend to err on pushing myself too hard which often means I don’t mean my goals, and I feel like a failure.

I didn’t reach accomplish either one of my goals this week.  However, I did get up around 5:00 on four of the days and got up at 6:00 the other three days, and you know what?  I feel really happy with that achievement.  I think that getting up at 5:00 is a little unreasonable for the weekends, and there was one night I didn’t great sleep and getting up at 6:00 seemed justified.  I found that I got tired earlier at night, and it was easier to fall asleep earlier.

I feel I had a much better handle on my week as I gave myself that extra hour to get spiritual perspective and plan my day.  I found it very validating to plan my day because I began to understand why I often don’t get everything done that I want to do.  My expectations have been impossible.  So now I am getting better at delegating and dropping certain items on my to do list.  Prayer is really important with this. I think I will share some of these routines with my husband so I can get his perspective on my priorities.

Practicing piano with my children is one of my life’s joy, but I still have to decide how much can actually do with them on a daily basis. 

Last night, I wrote a thank you e-mail to my mother-in-law and gave her an update about all of of the things my children are doing.   I was astounded at how much each of them are doing as well as how much time they are needing from me.  I also mentioned things I want to be doing with my children that I haven’t had time to do.  My mother-in-law wrote me back some wise counsel, and I realized that even with my children, who are such a high priority in my life, I cannot do it all.  There are things I’m going to have to delegate and things I’m going to need to drop.  I figure that one thing that might help me is to just ask each of my children what their priorities are and how I can help them reach their goals.

Finally, I read this week in the Book of Mormon, but not what I had wanted to do.  However, I feel peace with this.  I feel grateful for what I was able to read and grateful for the peace and direction it gave me this week.  I hope that I might be able to do some catch up on the weekends and maybe have some time during Thanksgiving, but I still don’t know if I will be able to finish by the end of the month.

One thing that I really loved doing was listening to the scriptures on my phone as I read.  The reader’s voice was deep and soothing, and I found that just listening to him gave me a sense of assurance and faith.

I know the Lord understands that I’m doing the best I can and that even though I’m not perfect, he is pleased with me.  I think that we as women often don’t realize that the Lord is very pleased with us.  I need to take greater joy in all the things I am able to do with his help.  

2 comments

Leave a Reply

