What to Do About Lunch?

Did you know that there’s such a thing as a chocolate chip cookie hangover?  I discovered that this morning, and it was not pretty.  I only ate two cookies (although how much dough I ate is a little questionable), and this morning I felt sick.

I’m rededicated to eating right and feeling better, but this time I’m going to look at my weak moments, the reasons why I tend to fail at staying on a steady course of eating well.

Banana Pancakes 036

I think my biggest problem is lunch.  I just have never had much interest in lunch.   While I might fix a little sandwich for Ricky and Deborah and give them a few same baby carrots, I just can’t get myself to sit down and eat with them.   I’m not much of a sandwich girl, and I don’t feel hungry so instead I snack here and there until 4:00 p.m. when I realize I’m starving.

Of course all the kids are home by now, and I don’t have time to fix something for myself, so I munch more high carb/high sugar foods.   High carb diets have always made me very tired, and so it’s hard to have the needed energy I need for all my children at such an important time of the day.

So I’m going to reexamine lunch because I know it’s really important.  My lunch has got to be two things in order to be successful 1) very easy to make and 2) very appetizing.

Welcome the banana pancake with strawberries and yogurt.  It’s SO easy.  It’s SO nutritious.  It’s SO yummy.  The recipe is here.

Banana Pancakes 038

But wait a minute!  Are you allowed to do breakfast at lunch?  Why not?  What I realized is that I’m very motivated to eat well at breakfast so I just make an omelette jam packed with vegetables (2-3 cups).  Then when I come to  lunch, when I’m really not in the mood to eat, I can be tantalized by a banana pancake.  My kids LOVE them.   Oh, and by the way.  These pancakes make a great breakfast too!

One comment

Leave a Reply

