Big Changes Over Here

I know I haven’t been around for a few weeks, but then these few weeks have been crazy.  We are selling our house.  It was a tough decision, and I’ve been far more emotional about it than I thought I would be.

We both know it’s the right decision and being closer to my husband’s work is very important, but you don’t realize just how attached you are to something until you have to leave it.

Image

I love this view just a few minutes walk from our house.

So we’ve been doing all of my favorite things lately—calling in a team of handymen, repainting, cleaning out closets, washing windows, throwing stuff out of the attic, stuffing stray papers into filing cabinets, making many many trips to Lowe’s (my favorite!) so I haven’t been really on top of the blog.

Image

My favorite room. I really love fireplaces.

I also went to a three day writer’s conference and was trying to finish a book to pitch to an agent.

DSC_0412

I love spring at our house.

Now that I write it all down it doesn’t sound like that big of a deal, but it’s been pretty high drama over here.  Lots of unhappy kids.  Lots of questions.  Lots of very full garbage cans.

While we love our house, we realize that the house isn’t everything.  The family is.  I had a dream last night about our old house in California which was also really hard to leave.   When I woke up, I realized that I hardly ever thought about that house anymore although there are some friends I dearly miss.  I will dearly miss some friends here too.  But we are hardwired to move forward, and I know that that is what we will do.

Anyone want to buy our house?

Leave a Reply

