Is it Best to Do Laundry Once a Week?

I had an epiphany about laundry.  It all started when we went on a much needed vacation.  Preparing our house for sale, showing it, and looking at new houses has been emotionally and physically draining, but swimming, biking, tennis, reading, and visiting with family felt rejuvenating.  What amazes me about vacations is how quickly I feel like I’m on top of the world.  I feel so recharged, so energized, and all of these brilliant ideas come to me, ideas on how to run my household more efficiently.  Does that ever happen to you?

Image

Debi is always on top of the world.

Well I came home pretty excited to try out my new system, and of course, implementation is never quite as fun as inspiration. Yesterday, I had plans to do all the laundry for the household and since I was going to be upstairs anyway, I might as well deep clean and organize the entire upstairs too.  Obviously, that stroke of genius came when I was a little high after playing tennis.

The fact was, I was feeling down right grouchy around 4:00 after about the eighth load of laundry and an attempt to organize Debi’s room.  But at the end of the day, when all of the laundry was finished and mostly put away, we all felt just a wee bit satisfied.

Well, most of us anyway.  One son was livid.  He’s not really into putting his clothes away or hanging them up for that matter.  When I handed him a stash of sock clips, clips that keep your socks together in the laundry, he just scoffed.  “Well I never use these!” Exactly. And I would know since I only have to match 49 pairs of socks a week.

Image

Not only do these sock clips keep these socks from getting lost, but they come in different colors. Each child gets a different color which makes sorting the socks much easier.

I calmly explained to him that he would start using the clips because I was no longer matching his socks.   I also told him that I would wash one basket of laundry for him a week for free but after that, he would be charged five dollars a basket.

This means that he’s going to have to think twice about his leave his clothes on the floor until Mom scoops them up on laundry day only to assess a $15 charge.  I so wish we could get things more in sync around here.  My six year old hangs up all of his clothes every day, but his clothes usually have his entire dinner on them.  But they look so nice hanging up in his closet!

I still think I would like to try doing all the laundry in one day, but I’m making these changes.

  • Don’t try to clean the upstairs on the same day I do laundry.  It’s just too much. Also, don’t try to run errands.
  • Get everybody to use sock clips.
  • Have the boys help put away more of the laundry after school.  This means that their other chores will have to be reallocated to different days.
  • Organize just one area on laundry day, an area that either stores or receives fresh laundry.  Yesterday, we organized Debi’s closet.  She loved organizing and labelling her little boxes.
  • Train the children to hang up more of their clothes instead of automatically throwing them in the laundry basket (or the floor in some cases).
Image

Debi’s closet after we organized it. She especially loved her bows basket.

I still think the advantages of doing all the laundry in one day or too great to ignore.  Here is another post on how doing your laundry in one day will save you both time and money.

How do you do your laundry?

 

Leave a Reply

