The Introvert’s Guide to Enjoying Motherhood

I saw the article in the waiting room while I waited for our doctor to apply another cast on one of my children.  We were regulars there.  The article talked about the perks of being an introvert, and after I took the self-administered test, I realized I was pretty much off the charts.

Rebekah 10-14-10 313 editedI wish I had come to this self-knowledge before I had five children.

But I understand it now.

Like when my husband asks where we should go on our date night, and I say, “I want to stay here, but can we send our kids out somewhere else?”

Like when we are at the dinner table, and one little boy is rolling around on the floor like a laughing hyena and my little girl is flushing the toilet with the bathroom door open, and I ask if anybody has seen the Ibuprofen.

Or like when my son throws a pitcher of water on his younger brother, and I try to pretend like it didn’t happen.

Like when all the kids plop near me on the fire place and I just say to them, “Could you guys just not talk for a little while?”

But the irony is that I got the loudest children in the universe. How did this happen?

Is it the pollutants in the air or the red dyes in their Skittles or the extra hormones in their milk or their steady diet of frenetic television shows? How did I get so many divas? And why did their packaging not include ear plugs?

Why do they not like to play with their puzzles for hours on end like I did? Why must they run in halls and slam their heads into door jams? Why must we spend so much time in the emergency room?

I don’t know.

I do know that I love warm fires and good books and a cup of herbal tea. I do know that Bilbo Baggins and I would have really hit it off (before the wizard showed up).

But I also know that life is not about being in our comfort zone all the time.

Life should leave you out of breath, and my kids are really good at doing just that. You should see us dance with abandon to the Village People. You should see me run after them on our three mile hikes. You should me chasing their balls on the tennis courts.

And they also make me laugh. They jump up and down like crazy when they play charades, they hum when they eat their food, and they fall off their chairs regularly.

My kids are giving me lots of opportunities to break up fights, administer first aid, and wipe up spills. But they also bring me a life of adventure. I may be reluctant at times to jump in with them, but then what stories would I have to tell?

Hey! For those of you visiting from Deseret News, I am thrilled you dropped by.  You can click on the top button in the left hand corner to follow us and that would make me super happy! 

A little bit about the blog:  Several of us in our family have ADHD, and we are trying to calm ourselves down by reading children’s classics before we go to bed.  I talk about the challenges of finding time to do quiet things in our hectic world, the importance of telling our own family stories, and all the things we are learning like, “Hey Ben.  Jane Austen says you need to start going to the church dances.”  Please join us in our journey.  We’re not too good at advice since we’re pretty clueless, but we are good for a few laughs!  See you later!  beckyblackburn.com

If you have a blog, please leave a comment with your blog link so I can visit you!

Check out-

Dad Was Cool, Mom was a Geek, and Other Things Our Kids Know About Their Family History

Five Reasons I’m Not Reading to My Children

Should I Make My Son Take Ballroom Dance Lessons? 

 

5 comments

  1. Great post…a ‘must share’ for fb or twitter! So eloquent about the struggles and joys of parenthood when a bit of piece and quiet is often so badly craved…I have one wildly extroverted child, the other is an introvert, like me. Having an extroverted child has proven to be THE hardest part of parenting, for me. She is demonstrative, theatric, highly social, loud, does not crave privacy, is uninhibited…oh I am so tired now that she is a young adult! ha But yes, she has taught me so much about life and joy…and helped me see both sides of the temperament equation. 🙂

  2. I appreciate the perspective. I have definitely had this experience, and my husband and I have done that ‘date night in’ before. I definitely need to work on relaxing and letting things go, and I love our moments as a family. Do you have any specific suggestions for finding those moments in the chaos?

    Also, I don’t have a blog, but my husband does below.

  3. Thank you so much. I wish I had some wisdom for you. That’s what I’m trying to figure out as I write this blog—how do I make the quiet time a priority? What do I cut out that’s just too much?
    I’m hoping that just being more aware of it will help. I really love the quiet reading time though. It helps me so much.
    I will have to check out your husband’s blog.

  4. Love your comment here. My extroverted girl is only four years old so we have a long way to go still. She sounds just like your daughter. It’s sweet though how she always wants “mommy” time.

Leave a Reply

