Why This Good Cook is Finally Caving Into Costco

I have been trying to simplify my life so that I have time to read to my children before bed.  My latest decision was to buy pre made meals at Costco.  This has been a long time coming.  I’ve considered myself a good cook.

DSC_0648

Ricky and I in France. There was a time where a French cooking school sounded like a dream to me. Not anymore. Especially since I can’t keep my hair back!

I may not be great at laundry or cleaning or paying bills, but I can cook.

For example, I know that you are supposed to put your roux through a strainer before you make gravy, you should always brown your onions first before you do anything with them, and that bacon will make any soup taste better.  DSC_0471

Even so, I’m feeling kind of done with cooking,  Costco makes great fresh stuff.  Yes, it’s more expensive, but is it really?  How much celery and spinach and bad strawberries have I pushed down my disposal this year?  What about the moldy cheese and the dry bread and the rotten hamburger?

And with so many things going on at night—scouts, church, husband late from work, back to school nights or whatever, making dinner and cleaning up after dinner was just getting to be too much.

On the day of this picture here, I had actually picked up food from Kneader’s and we just had a picnic at the park.  If I could afford it, I would do it every night.  But one night is o-kay is it not?  Besides, look at the cute pictures I got.

Putting on dinner is fast.  Clean up is fast.  Mom’s not grouchy.

We’ll save the good cookin’ for Thanksgiving.

Leave a Reply

