Reading to Children When You Are Exhausted

You may have noticed that I didn’t post yesterday.  Actually, most of you probably didn’t notice.

I have an excuse though.  I am dealing with the worst case of jet lag ever!  Even as I write, there is a high chance I may not finish this sen—

DSC_0526

As you know, my little Ricky and I went to Germany last week to visit my sister.  Since we’ve been home, we’ve been crashing sometime between 6:00 and 9:00 at night and waking up sometime between 2:00 and 4:30 a.m.  While you would think that getting up so early would be greatly improving my productivity, I’m still netting around five hours a night, and I’m walking around like a zombie.

Ricky is pretty funny too.  I usually bump into him around 5:00 a.m.

Last night he said, “Will you read that part of Heidi to me that you read last night?”

“You mean that part where you fell asleep?” I asked.

“Yeah,” that part, he said.

Two minutes later he asked, “Do you think you could not read Heidi tonight?” as his eyes dropped closed.

“Ya sleepy?”

“Yeah,” he said before drifting off .  As you can imagine, the jet lag has interfered a bit with our reading routines, but I’m been still trying my best to keep it going!

Last night as I read A Wrinkle in Time to my older boys, I keep nodding off.  After all it was almost 8:30.  Davy was sorely disappointed that I hadn’t read much so I got myself up, got in my pajamas, and then went back down to his room to read a bit longer, but I fell asleep again in five minutes.

Finally, I got into my own bed with Debi in tow, explaining to me that since I hadn’t read Heidi to her, I owed her a Persian Cinderella story.  I got in bed and started reading it to her, and was just dying about halfway through.  I finished the book early, hoping she wouldn’t that there were about ten pages left.  I wouldn’t know because I was out before I could even hear her protest.

This morning I was delighted to see that I had slept in until 4:45 a.m.  So why am I so tired?

Leave a Reply

