Slowing Down. Yes, You Can Do It Too!

So after that dramatic post yesterday about the urgent care (which didn’t deserve to be dramatic), I decided I’m actually going to follow through with what I said I’d do.

IMG_1853

I’m going to slow down.  No, really, I’m serious.  I’m going to slow down by keeping my priorities straight and no worrying about everything else.

I just reviewed Julie Beck’s talk, Mothers Who Know.  Wow!  It is so powerful!  These passage really moved me.

Mothers who know do less. They permit less of what will not bear good fruit eternally. They allow less media in their homes, less distraction, less activity that draws their children away from their home. Mothers who know are willing to live on less and consume less of the world’s goods in order to spend more time with their children—more time eating together, more time working together, more time reading together, more time talking, laughing, singing, and exemplifying. These mothers choose carefully and do not try to choose it all.

When I read this, I actually feel relieved.  I do not need to do it all.  If anything, I should err in not doing not enough instead of doing too much!

My first priority is my relationship with God, and if it’s really a priority, I’ve got to take care of this first thing in the morning before everything gets too busy.

After careful consideration, I’ve decided to dedicate one hour in the mornings to Him.  This is the hour I will have to pray, plan, read scriptures, and exercise.  I wish I had more time, but I don’t so I will make the best use of the time I have.

This is how it will break down.

15 minutes.  Praying and planning.

15 minutes.  Reading the Book of Mormon.  (Our bishop has challenged us to read it by the end of the year).

30 minutes.  Doing yoga while listening to General Conference on my phone.

For those of you not familiar with my church, The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-Day Saints, I will be referring to it on my Sunday posts.  If you have any questions about anything I include in my post today, email me at beckyblackburnwrites@gmail.com.  I would love to hear from you!

How do you get closer to God?

One comment

Leave a Reply

