Good Morning Deseret News Visitors! Glad You Could Drop In!

Good morning!  Many of you are visiting today from the Deseret News.  My article, “Why Aren’t Our Kids Going to Church Dances?”  has stirred quite a debate.   I’ve loved reading all of your comments!

75ca9-img_1817bw

I invite you to spend a little time on my blog.  Some of my most popular articles have been “The Introvert’s Guide to Enjoying Motherhood,” “Seven Signs You Have ADHD:  The Real Signs,”  and of course, “Did I Marry My Soul Mate?  Wait . . . What’s a Soul Mate?” 

Come back tomorrow because I’m going to write about my son’s next dance, the one where I volunteered to be a chaperon.  (And didn’t he love it?)

If you’re wondering what this site is about, well,  I’m a stay-at-home mom of five kids, a law school grad, a Mormon, oh, and I have ADHD.  My husband and I are straddling a lot of different ages with a child in preschool, two in elementary school, one in junior high, and one in high school.  I write about trying to slow down my hectic life.  I believe our kids are over-programmed.  I believe our kids are much more capable than we give them credit for although we still may have to keep them focused.  We are too easily distracted by dumb things, and as a girl with ADHD, I am especially susceptible to losing my way (but at least I have an excuse)!

I think it’s important for stay-at-home moms to set their own personal goals and develop their talents.  One of my goals is to read 101 Children’s classics to my kids.  So far we’ve read The Sword and the Stone, Wonder, A Wrinkle in Time, and Charlotte’s Web.  Right now we’re wrapping up The Hound of the Baskervilles and Brothers Grimm Fairy Tales.   So I write about that too.  Reading to my children is often the highlight of my day.  Not only that, but I’m leaning how to sound like a stuffy British man, a terrified Argentine beauty, and a savage wolf trying to fake nice.

When it comes to technical stuff, I am moronic which is why I’m still trying to get this blog off the ground.  I would be forever grateful if you could click on the follow button and the Facebook like button found on the right side of the page.  Oh, and if you leave comment, I will love you forever!  Don’t forget to come back tomorrow.  It’s easy to remember.  beckyblackburn.com

What are some issues you think I should write about?

One comment

Leave a Reply

