Thanksgiving Is Not Easy for Everyone

I recently read this on one of my friend’s Facebook sites.

Some thoughts as we enter the holiday season…It is important to remember that not everyone is surrounded by large wonderful families. Some of us have problems during the holidays and some of us are overcome with great sadness when we remember the loved ones who are not with us. And, many people have no one to spend these times with and are besieged by loneliness. We all need caring, loving thoughts right now. If I don’t see your name I will understand. May I ask my friends.…..wherever you might be to kindly copy, paste and share this status to give a moment of support for all those who have family problems, health struggles, job issues, worries of any kind and just need to know someone cares. Do it for all of us, for nobody is immune.

KONICA MINOLTA DIGITAL CAMERA

My dear father who passed away five years ago.

 

I was really moved by eloquent way she talked about how difficult the holidays are for some people.  I hope that we can all remember and look out for those that might feel forgotten or who might be missing loved ones who have passed on.

At this time of year, we always think about our dad who passed away five years ago.   Thanksgiving was his favorite holiday.  It’s mine too.  My sister, Bonnie,  wrote a beautiful post about him this week.  I also was very moved by this talk that I read this week.  One of my favorite scriptures is found in Luke 4:18-19

 18 The Spirit of the Lord is upon me, because he hath anointed me to preach the gospel to the poor; he hath sent me to heal the brokenhearted, to preach deliverance to the captives, and recovering of sight to the blind, to set at liberty them that are bruised,

 19 To preach the acceptable year of the Lord.

Hopefully, as I enter into the rush of the Christmas season, I can remember this first.

Leave a Reply

