So Long, Farewell.

Yes, I’m afraid it’s true.  I’m not showing up here very much anymore.  I’ve been meaning to tell you, but break ups are hard to do.

IMG_8106ma

It’s not you.  It’s me.  I have precious few hours in my week to write.  Another door opened for me, and I’ve got to walk through it.  That just doesn’t leave as much time for us, does it?  I’ll try to drop a line on Sundays.  Wouldn’t mind hearing from you too.

It’s so weird because when I look at where people are who are reading my blog, they’re from all over the world.  Saudia Arabia, Ireland, Australia, China, but sometimes I think WordPress is just making that stuff up to keep me blogging.  But if WordPress is telling the truth, could you drop me a line?  I’m dying to get to know you.  beckyblackburnwrites@gmail.com.

Some last thoughts?  I know I’ve written a lot about being a mom of five.  Been going through some growing pains right now.  Running errands, making dinner, filing bills—yeah, I really don’t like any of that.  Do you?  Am I the only woman not built for this job?

I still do it all, but sometimes I get restless and antsy.  Sometimes I want to be a bigger part of the conversation out there. Then I have nights like tonight where what I’m doing all feels so right.

On Mondays, we have Family Home Evening, something our church (The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-Day Saints, also known as the Mormon church) asks families to hold every Monday night.

We share a lesson, play a game, have a treat.  It’s all quite simple, but yet sometimes it’s hard.  Tonight went so wonderfully though.  Davy and the captain gave a lesson they had prepared on agency (free will).  We talked about why God allows evil to exist in the world.  It was funny because at that moment, it didn’t seem like evil did exist.  I felt like we were protected, safe from it—at least for that moment.  My children are going to have to face a lot of challenges in this life, but hopefully they will remember these sweet times together and that will give them strength.

We then played a fun game called Timeline and as we sat there gathered around that little coffee table, and as the children were laughing, I couldn’t help but think, “This is right.  This is where we are supposed to be.  This is what we are supposed to be doing.”

We were so peaceful with one another which is so —unlike us.  We are like any other family with our share of fights and disagreements and whininess (I’m the biggest whiner of us all), but I really felt like the Lord was with us tonight.  Everyone was so sweet with each other and everything felt so peaceful, and I just wanted to write about it before I forgot about it.

When are your best family moments?

Again, I would love to hear from you.  If you have questions or comments, e-mail me at beckyblackburnwrites@gmail.com

4 comments

  1. Becky! I just happened to see your cute face on my friend Stephanie Payne’s Facebook timeline. Remember living at Raintree? I was only there for the summer but enjoyed getting to know you. Ironic to be saying “Hello” on your “Goodbye” blog post. 🙂
    Hope you are well!
    Diana Hartley Butler

Leave a Reply

